On Friday, Pakistan unveiled their squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, with star batter Babar Azam leading the charge. The squad, described by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) as a talented and balanced mix of youth and experience, includes key players such as Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Rizwan, and Fakhar Zaman.

Newcomers to the T20 World Cup squad include promising talents Saim Ayub, Abrar Ahmed, Usman Khan, Azam Khan, and Abbas Afridi, highlighting the PCB’s focus on blending fresh talent with seasoned performers. Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim make their returns to the World Cup squad, having last appeared in 2016 and 2021 respectively. Notably, no reserves have been announced for the squad.

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup 2024 Squad:

The full squad comprises: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Haris Rauf.

Player support personnel include Wahab Riaz, Mansoor Rana, Gary Kirsten, Azhar Mahmood, Simon Helmot, David Reid, Aftab Khan, Cliffe Deacon, Irtaza Komail, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Khurram Sarwar, Talha Ijaz, Raza Kitchlew, and Drikus Saaiman.

Haris Rauf, who is fully fit, is expected to play a crucial role in the tournament, strengthening Pakistan’s formidable bowling lineup. The team’s Group A competitors include India, Ireland, Canada, and the USA, setting the stage for high-stakes matches.

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule:

  • June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas
  • June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York
  • June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York
  • June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

The T20 World Cup 2024 will feature a total of 55 games, played across nine venues in the West Indies and the USA. The West Indies venues include Kensington Oval (Barbados), Brian Lara Cricket Academy (Trinidad), Providence Stadium (Guyana), Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (Antigua), Darren Sammy Cricket Ground (St Lucia), and Arnos Vale Stadium (St Vincent). In the USA, matches will be held at Eisenhower Park (New York), Lauderhill (Florida), and Grand Prairie (Texas).

T20 World Cup 2024 Groups:

  • Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA
  • Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
  • Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
  • Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

The PCB’s announcement has generated significant excitement and optimism among fans, who eagerly await Pakistan’s performance in this highly anticipated tournament. The inclusion of both veteran players and new talent underscores Pakistan’s strategy to reclaim their status as T20 World Cup champions.

Also, see:

Direct flights from Pakistan to UK likely to resume soon

Topics #featured #trending pakistan